Why I Love the Olympics

First, let me just say that I like the winter Olympics Vastly Better than the summer. Skiing is just So Cool– especially that aerial stuff they do. Really Really Amazing.

I like that, for about two weeks, there is something worth watching on television. That said, I Can’t Believe that American Idol got better ratings, and that fact shows, doesn’t it?, that we are, nationally, in a Sorry State of Affairs.

I like the focus on athleticism and hard work and practice. I like learning about athletes from different countries. I like learning about the host country, and seeing how they choose to portray themselves in the opening and closing ceremonies. I like things like an eleven-year-old girl standing alone, spot-lit in a vast stadium, singing impeccably her country’s national anthem.

The Olympics work for me, even though I don’t watch constantly, and don’t keep a medal count. The Olympics make me believe– for two weeks, at least– that many people out there care more about peace and playful competition than about … oh, Other Things.

But my favorite aspect of the Olympics: Bob Costas, who demonstrated Real Intelligence in sports reporting during the ’96 Olympics. He used the word “supine.”

That Made My Day.


2 thoughts on “Why I Love the Olympics

  1. Bob Costas rocks. I love his straight-faced, slightly sarcastic humor. In my book, he redeems all those sportscasters thrusting microphones in athletes faces and asking ridiculously inane questions.-mbt

    Like

  2. I love the Winter Olympics as well. The snowboard racing event was the coolest thing ever. I think Jack would love to do that. I say we just make plans to go to the Olympics in 2010 in Vancouver. What do you say? And if you are in then please make friends with someone in Vancouver so we have some place to stay. I am sure you can do this. You have 4 years.

    Like

Leave a comment